My Home: Toronto

The love that I have for Toronto is almost difficult to put into writing because I can’t even think of the words to describe how much I love this city. I moved here alone when I was 17 and just beginning school at the University of Toronto and I still get butterflies of excitement in my stomach thinking of the day that I packed up all of my belongings and drove here with my family to begin my new life. It was the best day of my life and one that I will always cherish and remember so vividly.

From moving into the university residence I made amazing friends that had also moved to Toronto for school and being able to explore this magical city with them was one of the best times of my life. We were all so new to Toronto – so scared, so excited and so curious to learn everything about our new home. Five and a half years later and I am still exploring this city as if I had just moved here for the first time.

Every day I learn something new about Toronto either from stumbling into a store I had never noticed or hearing about a new restaurant from friends I had never been to before or even exploring areas of the city I have always loved but can always find something magical about time and time again. Even my boyfriend who has lived here his whole life is constantly finding new things to love and explore about this city with me while still introducing me to places he has loved his entire life.

Toronto is my home. It has seen me at my best and at my worst. It is always there for me when I need its comforting arms and it offers my never ending unconditional love. It has offered me so many opportunities and chances I never would have dreamed of. Toronto has made me grow into the person I am today and into the adult I am slowly becoming and for that I will always love this city with all of my heart.

I am hoping to post a new picture of somewhere or something in Toronto once a week so others who do not live here, and even those that do, can see how beautiful Toronto is. Please feel free to post your own as well! πŸ™‚

image
Toronto Harbourfront

XO

Please note that the above image is from my Instagram account (@rchlwllms)

17 thoughts on “My Home: Toronto

  1. Very interested to read about Toronto Rachel! I have family there (distant cousins but we have caught up when they came to New Zealand for a family reunion and we flew across from our home in Perth – it’s a small world!). My daughter has visited Toronto on a school music tour a few years back too. Will enjoy looking through your photos! Best wishes Rosemary (Le Chic En Rose)

    Like

  2. I will be moving to Toronto in the fall, and I loved hearing about how much you love Toronto as well! Growing up, I spent a lot of time in Toronto, and I’ve always loved the city, shops, and cafes! Have you been to Fika cafe in the Kensington Market? It’s awesome, I’d really recommend it! I even made a post about it here, if you want to check it out: http://tallgirlmeetsworld.com/destinations/touristing-in-toronto. Loved reading this post!
    Kaitlyn xo

    Like

    1. Awh thank you so much for the lovely comment! No, I haven’t been to Fika before but I just read your blog post and it looks amazing! I’ll definitely have to check it out. Love your blog ps- your pictures are beautiful! Just followed you πŸ™‚ xx

      Like

Leave a Reply

